I only had a very small amount of marijuana on me and I was still arrested. I thought it was decriminalized in Texas?

Some states have decriminalized possessing small amounts of marijuana, but unfortunately for you, Texas is not one of them. In fact, Texas takes nearly every kind of drug arrest extremely seriously. Even if you're holding just a tiny bit of marijuana for a friend, if it's found in your possession, you could end up serving jail time.

If you are found guilty of possessing two ounces or less of marijuana, you will most likely be convicted of a Class B Misdemeanor and can serve up to 180 days in jail and face up to a $2,000 fine. There's also a chance the judge will order drug treatment and/or community service. You will also lose your driver's license for 6 months or more.

State Rep. Harold Dutton (D-Houston) has been trying to get House Bill 184 passed, but is meeting quite a bit of opposition. His proposed legislation would knock the charge for individuals with one ounce of marijuana or less down to a Class C misdemeanor, instead of being a Class B misdemeanor. That would mean, if convicted, a person would face a $500 fine and no jail time. Dutton sponsored an identical bill in the 2011-2012 legislative session, but the bill died in committee.

There may not be much you can do to sway our state's lawmakers, but you can get a good drug crime attorney to take your case on. Many times, law enforcement officers violate search and seizure laws; if that is what happened in your situation, you may be able to get the charges thrown out. Contact Waco drug crime defense attorney Walter Reaves by calling 254-296-0020‚Äč to schedule a free consultation.