Types of Theft and the Punishments for Those Who Are Convicted

Most people understand the main idea of theft—it's when you take something that does not lawfully belong to you. However, theft is a broad term and many different types of stealing fall under this umbrella. You could be charged with theft for:

  • Shoplifting
  • Fraud, such forgery and embezzlement
  • Receiving stolen property
  • Auto theft

Depending on other contributing factors, someone convicted of theft will face a punishment that matches the dollar value of the items they stole. Here's how the penalties break down in Texas:

  • Less than $50: This is classified as a Class C misdemeanor. The person will face a fine of no more than $500.
  • $50 or more, but less than $500: This is classified as a Class B misdemeanor, and the person will face a fine of no more than $2,000 and/or no more than 180 days in a county jail.
  • $500 or more, but less than $1,500: This is classified as a Class A misdemeanor. The defendant will face a fine of no more than $4,000 and/or no more than 1 year in a county jail.
  • $1,500 or more, but less than $20,000: This is classified as a state jail felony and the person will face a fine of no more than $10,000 and/or 180 days to two years in jail.
  • $20,000 or more, but less than $100,000: This is classified as a third-degree felony. The defendant will face a fine of no more than $10,000 and/or two to ten years in prison.
  • $100,000 or more, but less than $20,000: This is classified as a second-degree felony. The penalty is a fine of no more than $10,000 and/or two to 20 years’ imprisonment.
  • $200,000 or more: This is considered a first-degree felony. On conviction, the defendant will be sentenced to a fine up to $10,000 and/or 5 to 99 years in prison.

If you have been charged with theft in the state of Texas, you need to get in touch with a Waco theft defense attorney  as soon as possible. Contact the Law Office of Walter Reaves, P.C. at 254-296-0020 today to schedule a free consultation.