Punishments Are Different For Various Classifications of Felonies and Misdemeanors in Texas

When you're facing charges in a criminal case, everything can seem so confusing. Misdemeanors? Felonies? What does it all mean and how will it affect your life if you're convicted?

There can be a lot to criminal prosecutions in Texas, so we've just broken down the very basics for you. This is not a complete list or description and you should definitely speak with a Texas criminal defense attorney if you have any questions.

Misdemeanors are viewed as "lesser" crimes than felonies, but they are still quite serious. Examples of misdemeanors in Texas are assault causing bodily injury, driving while intoxicated (first or second offenses) and certain types of theft. They can be classified in three different ways:

  • Class A Misdemeanor: Punished by a fine not to exceed $4,000, confinement in jail for a term not to exceed one year, or both the fine and imprisonment.
  • Class B Misdemeanor: Punished by a fine not to exceed $2,000, confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days, or both the fine and imprisonment.
  • Class C Misdemeanor: Punished by a fine not to exceed $500.

Felonies are much more serious and a conviction can have an extremely negative impact on your life. Examples of felonies in Texas are aggravated sexual assault, certain drug crimes, and of course, murder. There are a few more felony classifications than misdemeanor classifications:

  • Capital Felony: Punished by the death penalty or life in prison.
  • First Degree Felony: Punished by confinement in the institutional division for life or for any term not more than 99 years or less than five years, and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
  • Second Degree Felony: Punished by confinement in the institutional division for life, or for any term not more than 20 years or less than two years, and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
  • Third Degree Felony: Punished by confinement in the institutional division for life, or for any term not more than 10 years or less than two years, and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
  • State Jail Felony Punishment: Punished by confinement in a state jail for any term of not more than two years or less than 180 days, and/or a fine up to $10,000. This level of offense may be punished as for a third degree felony, if it is shown that a deadly weapon was used or exhibited during the commission of the offense or during immediate flight following the commission of the offense.

If you've been accused of a crime, don't let yourself be convicted of one of these misdemeanors or felonies without fighting back! Contact the Law Office of Walter Reaves in Waco, Texas, at 254-296-0020‚Äč today for a free criminal defense consultation.

Walter Reaves
Connect with me
Criminal Defense Attorney Walter Reaves has been practicing law for over 30 years.